Saturday, December 12, 2009

Add cuteness to your e-mails by using emoticons!

Anyone who uses the internet and e-mail is familiar with the textual expressions known as emoticons that are used to represent the writer's facial expression and  mood. The use of emoticons can change the meaning or interpretation of a written statement. Emoticons can also add a level of cuteness to your e-mail and online messages!

Western emoticons are read horizontally and you have to tilt your head to see what the emoticon is representing. For example:  :-) represents a smile, the first mark (colon) represents the eyes, the second mark (dash) represents the nose and the third mark (closed parenthesis) represents the mouth or smile. Here are some common ones:

:-) smile  |  :D big smile  |  :o surprised  | :P tongue out  | :-( sad or frown  |  ;-)  wink

Japanese emoticons differ in that they are read vertically. For example: (^o^)y represents peace. The first mark (open parenthesis) is said to represent an ear or the side of the head, the second mark (karat) represents an eye, the third mark (lower case o) represents the mouth, the fourth mark (karat) represents the right eye, the fifth mark (closed parenthesis) represents the right ear or side of head and the sixth mark (lower case y) represents the right hand making a peace sign. Here are some common Japanese emoticons you can use in your email and online correspondence:

(n_n) smile  |  *(^O^)* happier  |   (*-*) i love it   |  (=_=)  boring  |  (ò_ó) mad  |  \(*O*)/  fabulous

We love the use of emoticons and have even created a fun line of kawaii japanese emoticons available on a variety of products including stickers, buttons, keychains and magnets!

Kawaii I Love It Japanese Emoticon Button button

Kawaii Smile Japanese Emoticon Button button

bye!   (^_^)/~~ 

No comments:

Post a Comment